Google
English-Test.net
Find penpals and make new friends today!

to endanger; to imperil; to dare; to venture
debut
slope
install
hazard
full quiz correct answer

Username
Password
 Remember me? 
Search   Album   FAQ   Memberlist   Profile   Private messages   Register   Log in 

Have or having in a sentence (possession)

ESL/EFL Worksheets and Handouts for Students Printable, photocopiable, clearly structured
Designed for teachers and individual learners
For use in a classroom, at home, on your PC
ESL Forum | English Vocabulary, Grammar and Idioms
Finding mistake | Grammar: When I can use DOES or DO in a question?
listening exercisestell a friend
Have or having in a sentence (possession) #1 (permalink) Tue May 06, 2008 9:12 am   Have or having in a sentence (possession)

Can't get this one to play right in my head, using any grammar. I'm a 2nd year language student writing a paper and it needs to be perfect:-)

Astronauts (who have) having the best physical en mental conditions, are most likely to be sent to the ISS (Smolders, 1980).

This is a quote from a book but why did they use have and not having? Is there any difference with having? I feel having is better because the astronauts would have to have the qualities every time they go to space. They shouldn't 'lose' them intermittently.

As native speakers, what would you suggest?
Jeroen1000

Have or having in a sentence (possession) #2 (permalink) Tue May 06, 2008 11:24 am   Have or having in a sentence (possession)

Hi Jeroen

If I understand you correctly, the original sentence was this:

Astronauts who have the best physical and mental conditions, are most likely to be sent to the ISS.

Using 'who have' is fine, however there should not be a comma in the sentence.

The simple present tense (have) is used to refer to facts and actions that happen regularly. Compare this:
I take the train to work. That means that every time I go to work I take the train.