Google
English-Test.net
Find penpals and make new friends today!

certificate; written file
paper
ambivalence
document
calendar
full quiz correct answer

Username
Password
 Remember me? 
Search   Album   FAQ   Memberlist   Profile   Private messages   Register   Log in 

I was graduated vs I graduated

ESL/EFL Worksheets and Handouts for Students Printable, photocopiable, clearly structured
Designed for teachers and individual learners
For use in a classroom, at home, on your PC
ESL Forum | English Vocabulary, Grammar and Idioms
All kinds of sport in English | Can I say I am impatient to ask someone for something?
listening exercisestell a friend
I was graduated vs I graduated #1 (permalink) Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:18 pm   I was graduated vs I graduated

Hi,

I heard someone with excellent command of English said "I was graduated from...". I have the impression this is incorrect so I am a little confused. Can we actually say this?

Many thanks,
Cantik

I was graduated vs I graduated #2 (permalink) Tue Nov 04, 2008 13:10 pm   I was graduated vs I graduated

Hi Cantik

The passive "I was graduated from" version is old-fashioned. It is not used nearly as often as the active "I graduated from" version. The American Heritage Dictionary provides good usage information and background about the verb "graduate":
Quote: