Google
English-Test.net
Find penpals and make new friends today!

to argue; to discuss; to consider; to ponder
debate
stay
change
watch
full quiz correct answer

Username
Password
 Remember me? 
Search   Album   FAQ   Memberlist   Profile   Private messages   Register   Log in 

Difference between should/could/would?

ESL/EFL Worksheets and Handouts for Students Printable, photocopiable, clearly structured
Designed for teachers and individual learners
For use in a classroom, at home, on your PC
ESL Forum | English Vocabulary, Grammar and Idioms
"An hill" | use of could and would in making sentense
listening exercisestell a friend
Difference between should/could/would? #1 (permalink) Sat Jan 31, 2009 17:04 pm   Difference between should/could/would?

Please,what is the difference among these words - should,would,could. When I can use - I have been studying for 2 years.I have been studied for 2 years.Thanks for explenation. Viera
Viera

Difference between should/could/would? #2 (permalink) Sun Feb 01, 2009 11:42 am   Difference between should/could/would?

The words have various meanings which any DICTIONARY will list for you, Viera. Very briefly:

Should -- must; had ought
Would -- intended to; inclined to
Could -- was possible to

In this story you'll learn everything about the passive voiceEnglish grammar exercises — improve your English knowledge and vocabulary skillsAre you a native speaker of English? Then you should read this!Sign up for FREE and explore English! Click to subscribe to email English course
Difference between should/could/would? #3 (permalink) Mon Feb 02, 2009 5:02 am   Difference between should/could/would?

Hi

so SHOULD is used mostly to express suggestions or advices, example:

You have a test tomorrow, you should study for it.

In this sentence it's advisable that you study for the test if you wanna pass it.

Or in the negative: You shouldn't smoke so much. (I am giving an advice once smoking is bad for your health you should not do it)