Google
English-Test.net
Find penpals and make new friends today!

to defend; to save from harm; to watch over; to guard
protect
invest
cause
gauge
full quiz correct answer

Username
Password
 Remember me? 
Search   Album   FAQ   Memberlist   Profile   Private messages   Register   Log in 

difference between THE and THESE usage in a sentence

ESL/EFL Worksheets and Handouts for Students Printable, photocopiable, clearly structured
Designed for teachers and individual learners
For use in a classroom, at home, on your PC
ESL Forums | English Vocabulary, Grammar and Idioms
Going to go out? | is it correct?
listening exercisestell a friend
difference between THE and THESE usage in a sentence #1 (permalink) Wed Mar 07, 2012 17:15 pm   difference between THE and THESE usage in a sentence

Hello, I'm a new member in this forum. I'm a student and a part time online English teacher for Asians and I need help for this. Please help me.

Which is correct?
A.) I usually use a subway and a bus because I can access THE types of transportation anywhere easily.
B.) I usually use a subway and a bus because I can access THESE types of transportation anywhere easily.

I preferred using letter B but grammar rule for article "THE" says that the second mention of a subject or noun is already definite. Is it also possible to use "
THESE"?

THanks -Victoria[/b]
Victoria Louise

difference between THE and THESE usage in a sentence #2 (permalink) Wed Mar 07, 2012 19:42 pm   difference between THE and THESE usage in a sentence

I prefer "these". In fact, "the" does not really sound right to me here.

"a subway and a bus" does not really sound right to me either. I would say "the subway and the bus".
Dozy
I'm a Communicator ;-)

How do you use the English Prepositions correctly?English grammar exercises — improve your English knowledge and vocabulary skillsAre you a native speaker of English? Then you should read this!Have you read a good anecdote today? Subscribe to free email English course