Google
English-Test.net
Find penpals and make new friends today!

having begun a journey (especially of a sea vessel); initiated; in progress; under construction
elect
dotted
effusive
underway
full quiz correct answer

Username
Password
 Remember me? 
Search   Album   FAQ   Memberlist   Profile   Private messages   Register   Log in 

Present Perfect (Unit 16)

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14  Next

ESL Forum | English for Beginners
Clauses | I'm a fourth year student
listening exercises
Present Perfect (Unit 16) #1 (permalink) Sat Jan 15, 2005 18:59 pm   Present Perfect (Unit 16)

The Present Perfect

How to build it

Subject + to have + past participle

The past participle
When employing regular verbs, you just have to add ‘–ed’ to the infinitive.
Examples:
to close – closed, to call – called, to cook – cooked

When employing irregular verbs, you take the past participle – usually the third form listed.
Examples:
to write – written, to take – taken, to bring – brought

So a Present Perfect sentence looks like following:

I have closed the door.
You have called the doctor.
He has cooked dinner.
She has written an article.
It has taken the newspaper.
We have brought a present.
You have watched TV.
They have worked hard.

When to use the Present Perfect

There are several words that indicate the use of Present Perfect, such as ‘yet’ ‘not…yet’ ‘since’ ‘for’ ‘already’ ‘just’ ‘ever’ .

You employ this tense when you want to show that the incident you describe has happened in the past and is still the case now. The exact time is not important.

Example: He has already been to London.
--> which means: he went to London at sometime in the past and today he can still say: 'I have been to London.'

Or: She has lived in Japan for twelve years.
--> which means: she went to Japan sometime in the past and is still living there. The action started in the past and has not finished yet.

:)
Sunny
I'm here quite often ;-)