Google
English-Test.net
Find penpals and make new friends today!

to surround
circle
range
abolish
enlarge
full quiz correct answer

Username
Password
 Remember me? 
Search   Album   FAQ   Memberlist   Profile   Private messages   Register   Log in 

Informal english?

ESL Forums | What do you want to talk about?
Your feedback on the new shop? | Anyone "Linkedin"
listening exercises
Informal english? #1 (permalink) Mon Jan 31, 2011 22:29 pm   Informal english?

hi all,

I am from HK and I am a beginner of english. I've got few questions. Would you mind sparing me a few minutes =] ?

First, normal english textbooks teach formal english. My doubt is that in western country, do people, especially talking with their friends, usually use formal english?

Second, some words which are informal like "meh" and "noob" are seldom found in textbooks. How can I know more about the usage of these informal english?

Third, I know a sentence is grammatically correct. However, I am not quite sure if it is general enough to use in conversation. I ask this because sometimes although my sentence is grammatically correct which my friend know what I was saying , they told me that it is not common. So I would like to ask how to avoid this.

thanks so much!
Murasakik

Informal english? #2 (permalink) Mon Jan 31, 2011 22:43 pm   Informal english?

Mura
English is not like a lot of other languages in that there is no Formal and informal words

If you want to ask "what are you doing"?

There is only one version of it

You is you formal or informal

You can make it more informal with adding to it say

Hi Mura - what are you doing matey(london)
Hi Murs - what are you doing big lad (Belfast)
Hi Mura - what are you doing boyo (Hick land) Wales where Bev's from :-)

Not sure what you mean with the grammar?
Irish Lurker
I'm a Communicator ;-)